Board Nominee Notice for 2021

February 1, 2021

Dear Member:

In accordance with the Bylaws of Seaboard Federal Credit Union (SFCU), this letter is sent to communicate the following official notices of SFCU.

The SFCU Annual Meeting will be Friday, April 30, 2021, the place and time to be determined.  Due to COVID restrictions, the meeting may be held virtually.  More information will be available as the date approaches.

For 2021, there are three Board openings.  Two openings are for three-year terms, and one opening is for a two-year term.  The Nominating Committee has selected:

Three-Year Term

  • Jim Duplessis, Retiree of Verso Paper.  Mr. Duplessis has served as a SFCU Director since November 2008, acting as Secretary/Treasurer for 5 years and Vice Chair for 1 year.  He was a member of the Supervisory Committee for 5 years, serving as Chair for 3 years.  Jim also served on SFCU’s Credit Committee from 1991-1993.  He has been on the local United Way Board of Directors and the Bucksport School Board. 

  • Don Sorey, Retiree of Verso Paper.  Mr. Sorey rejoined the Board in 2012, after serving 12 years from 1981-1992.  He has served as Board Chairman for 3 years and won the Maine Credit Union League’s Outstanding Credit Union Volunteer “Alexander Ferguson” Award in 1992.  Don also served as President of Local #1188 of the United Papermakers International Union.

Two-Year Term

  • William Cohen, Retiree of Verso Paper.  Mr. Cohen has served as a SFCU Director for 2 years.  He has also served as Past President of the Bangor Chamber of Commerce, the Bangor YMCA, the Bucksport Bay Chamber of Commerce and has been on the Board of Trustees for the Maine Public Broadcasting Network and the Maine Community College System.  Bill has an MA from Miami University and BA from Marietta College.

Nominations for the vacancies may also be made by petition.  You must complete two required forms, “Nomination by Petition” and “Qualifications and Biographical Information”.  The petition form must be signed by 1% of Seaboard Federal Credit Union members, which equals 130 signatures.  All forms and petitions must be returned to the Chair of the Nominating Committee, (address below), by March 5, 2021.

Mr. Kyle Casburn, Chair Nominating Committee
c/o Seaboard Federal Credit Union
PO Box G
Bucksport, ME 04416

The election will not be conducted by ballot and there will be no nominations from the floor when there is only one nominee for each position to be filled.  If so, the Secretary will cast one ballot for the nominees at the annual meeting.

Should a ballot be required, members will be notified on March 16, 2021 of all the names that will appear on the ballot.  Elections for the new board members will then take place at the Ellsworth and Hermon offices on April 29 and the Bucksport office on April 30.  If you have any questions, please call (207) 469-6341.


Kyle W. Casburn, President and CEO